WorldWide WP 5k – An Urban Awareness Walk

WWWP 5k Walk © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved; #KBFPhotography #Herzensreise

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

Recently, WordPress announced the WorldWide WP 5k 2015 for the time between October 26th and November 1st.  Although I have blogged for more than three years on WordPress, I admit I have read about this annual event for the first time, this year.  And it struck a chord within me.

Some of you might know that I am a big fan of going out for a walk.  It helps me to ground and centre myself, to re-connect with my true nature as well as to allow things to move and fall into perspective for me.

However, since a while now, I have experienced struggles with keeping up a regular walking routine.  Being highly sensitive and empathic in wild times like these can feel very challenging and most recently I often had to simply close the door and pull back into my snail-shell in order to keep the dosage of energies rolling in to an almost bearable level.

I missed my regular walks, though.  And when I read about the WorldWide WP 5k event, I took it as an invitation to enjoy some re-connection.

Now, exactly during the time announced for the WWWP5k by WordPress my monthly cycle announced itself, as well.  Some of you know about my very painful history with menstruation.  I found out that it really helps me, to stay absolutely calm during this time, which I did – and successfully, too, as I could prevent the really bad pain with the necessary awareness.  Yay!!!

Hence, it had to be a belated WWWP5k walk.  Yet, I did it – accompanied by my dear husband Kim.

We had planned a route which starts in front of our door and leads through the nearby Altonaer Volkspark.  But it turned out a different way.

On November 5th 2015 I had an afternoon appointment in Hamburg-Iserbrook, the area where I grew up.  It actually is not at all far from where I live now, yet, due to some circumstances I have not been back there for about four years.  I asked Kim, if he would like to join me on a walk through my old stomping grounds and he agreed.  We started timely, so that we would still get some light and I could take some photos, too, before the appointment.

I was a bit excited to visit my old neighbourhood, as so many things have changed since I had visited, last time.  I was a little scared, that I would feel disconnected or sad.  It was rather the opposite!

The walk had something so very nourishing.  It was not only that these are the grounds of my childhood and I might automatically feel stronger or more protected, there.  It was also something about the area itself, something, that Kim felt, too.  By the way, Kim will post an article about feeling at home over on Kim Kersey Blog, tomorrow at 4pm.

Although we live in Hamburg, the second biggest city of Germany, this walk felt calm and very connected to the power of Mother Nature.  A lot of old trees are growing in that neighbourhood, you find patches of wild growth along the sidewalks and if you walk only a little further than we did, you find yourself amidst pastures and beet fields.”

-Stefanie Neumann

I felt so carried and cared for.  It was amazing.  A re-connection of the unexpected kind.

The appointment itself did not go too well, but that is a different story to be told another time.

The beauty of the experience is that instead of trying to improve a confusing appointment by trying to weave some comfort into the event, the not so great appointment was woven into an overall beautiful experience.  And when I checked the route after we got home, I found that we had walked pretty much exactly 5 kilometres.

Conclusion:  Expect the unexpected.

Finally, some photo footage with impressions from our walk, as announced on Kokopelli Bee Free Blog, yesterday. Enjoy!

 

7 thoughts on “WorldWide WP 5k – An Urban Awareness Walk

  1. Pingback: Worldwide WP 5k – Visiting the Dahlia Garden Hamburg | Herzensreise ♥ Heart's Journey

  2. Pingback: Join Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k 2016 | WordPress.com News | Herzensreise ♥ Heart's Journey

  3. Pingback: Join Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k 2016 | WordPress.com News | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

  4. Pingback: November Reflections | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

Verbreite Deine Liebe - Spread Your Love

