A Trifle

Love Bench BW © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved.

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

Here is another poem by Erich Fried which I like a lot…

for Catherine

I don’t know what love is
but maybe
it is something like this:

When she
comes home from abroad
and proudly tells me: “I have
seen a river rat”
and I remember these words
when I wake up in the night
and on the next day during work
and I am longing to
hear her say
the same words again
and also for
that she shall once more look exactly
like she did
when she said them –

I think, that may be love
or something sufficiently similar

-Erich Fried
[Translation: Stefanie Neumann]

Verbreite Deine Liebe - Spread Your Love

