Happy Exchange: Kaddu Ki Sabzi

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

Kaddu Ki Sabzi - © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved.

Kaddu Ki Sabzi

Today I am sharing a little cooking adventure that Kim and I went on, some days ago.

Recently, I posted a few food pictures from our Autumn celebrations on Kokopelli Bee Free Media as well as on Google+ and Pinterest.  Soon, people would start asking me for recipes (of which variations can mostly be found on my “Inspiration Nourishment” Pinterest board) and I also received instructions on how to make Kaddu Ki Sabzi – Pumpkin Indian Style – from the lovely Kamini Mehra.

I had cooked Indian food, before, but this recipe was new to me. You can find Kamini Mehra’s instructions in the comments of this post.

As this came to me quite spontaneously, I did not have all the ingredients at home, so I opted for a little variation:

Kaddu Ki Sabzi à la Kersey

Ingredients:

Kaddu Ki Sabzi Ingredients - © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved.

Kaddu Ki Sabzi – Ingredients

  • 1 small pumpkin (kaddu)
  • ¼ tsp black mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds (sonf)
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds (jeera)
  • ¾ tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 or 2 red chillies (optional)
  • ½ tsp ground cayenne pepper
  • ½ tsp ground turmeric (haldi)
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • ¾ – 1 cup water (1 American measuring cup = 236,6ml)
  • Sea salt
  • 2 tbsp virgin rapeseed oil
  • ¼ tsp ground garam masala
  • 1 tsp mixed dried and ground citrus peels
  • A few leaves of fresh lemon balm
  • A pinch of dried mint per serving

Method of Preparation:

  1. Wash the pumpkin. Peel and chop the pumpkin.
  2. Seed red chilies and chop finely.
  3. In a pan heat oil.
  4. Add the mustard, coriander, fennel and cumin seeds and fry for a minute on a low flame.
  5. Now add the red chillies and fry for about 15 seconds.
  6. Add the chopped pumpkin and all the dried spices except the garam masala, mint and ground citrus peels.
  7. Add the maple syrup.
  8. Mix the pumpkin with the spices and maple syrup. Add water and salt.  Cover the pan with a lid and cook the pumpkin for about 15-20 minutes till it becomes soft and mushy.
  9. Now mash the cooked and soft pumpkin and add the garam masala as well as ground citrus peels.  Stir the mashed pumpkin well and cook for a minute or two.
  10. If the end product still looks watery, then evaporate the water by cooking it without the lid.
  11. Garnish with a pinch of dried mint and a few leaves of fresh lemon balm. Serve ‘kaddu ki sabzi’ while it is warm.

Puris, chapattis or rice can be eaten with the ‘kaddu ki sabzi’.
Serves : 4

🎃🎃🎃

*Notes:

With those two chilies I used the dish was quite spicy.  So, I maybe would use a bit less, next time.  To balance the spiciness we had some soya yogurt alongside.

We did not have all of the original ingredients at hand, so here are the changes I made:

  • I used a Hokaido pumpkin which does not need to be peeled.
  • Instead of olive oil I used rapeseed oil.
  • I opted for mustard seeds instead of fenugreek and maple syrup instead of jiggery (an Indian suggar variety) to make up for the fact that we did not have any fenugreek left in stock.
  • I added a few coriander seeds to the spice mix as we were out of fresh leaves.
  • Instead of ground lal mirch (red chili) I used cayenne pepper.
  • I used fresh red chilies (like those you get in any European store) instead of the little dried ones you usually use for Indian cooking.
  • We always have sea salt at hand, so I opted for this instead of using namak (rock salt).
  • As we did not have amchur (ground mango) I opted for homemade ground dried peels of mixed citrus fruits.
  • Our fresh mint on the balcony is already pulling back for winter, but our lemon balm would still let me harvest a few leaves, so I used the latter with some dried wild mint for the extra touch.
Verbreite Deine Liebe - Spread Your Love

